Boxing / More sports

Scott Fitzgerald: Preston boxer excited for first hometown clash in five years

Fitzgerald (centre) with trainer Karl Ince (left) and his dad Dave.

Preston’s Scott Fitzgerald is looking forward to his homecoming bout at the Guild Hall this Saturday.

The 25-year-old made his professional debut last February at the Manchester Arena on the undercard of the Scott Quigg v Carl Frampton fight.

“I’m buzzing for it now,” he said.

“I’m feeling good in my training and it’s the first time I’ve boxed in Preston since 2012 so I’m looking forward to it.

“Tickets have gone well so it’s going to be packed and it should be a really good atmosphere.”

Fitzgerald admitted training has been easier because he is motivated to impress all of the people who turn out.

“It will give me the boost and when I’m training I’m working hard because I want to look good in front of all these people,” he added.

“Boxing in front of a lot of people gets to some fighters but I like it and it works well for me.”

Although Fitzgerald will top the bill for the first time in his professional career he is not fazed by the extra pressure and hopes it is a dress rehearsal for a potential title fight in 2018.

“It is what it is for now,” he said.

“Hopefully next year I’ll be winning a title there so it’s just going to give me experience of doing that.

“I’ve ended up being second to last on a few big bills already so it’s nothing new to me.”

Fitzgerald also explained how it will be good to have Ben Swarbrick and Adam Simpson on the same bill.

Swarbrick made a winning start to his boxing career by beating Brett Fidoe a few months ago whilst Simpson came through against Hull’s Andy Neylon last December.

“It will be good with Ben Swarbrick,” he added.

“I’ve also got a mate of mine from the amateur gym Adam Simpson who is on it.”

When asked about his first year in the professional ranks, Fitzgerald was pleased with the progress but confessed the last match against Adam Jones was a wake-up call.

“I’ve won five with three KOs so it’s gone well,” he said.

“I did get put down in my last fight and it was a kick up the arse because you have to be professional outside the gym.”

One of the toughest things since turning professional has been the self-motivation needed to lead the lifestyle of a professional boxer, according to Fitzgerald.

“When I was in the amateurs and living in Sheffield you just did as you were told,” he said.

“In the pros it’s up to you to get up and do what you have to do.”

Fitzgerald also highlighted the progress he has made under the stewardship of Michael Jennings.

Jennings, who challenged for a world title in New York’s Madison Square Garden back in 2009, opened his own gym over four years ago.

“I’m coming on loads there and I’m sure a lot of that is down to Michael and his brother Dave,” he said.

“Michael has been there and done it so I can believe in what he’s saying.

“I’ve also still got my dad helping out so he’s always making sure that I’m right.”

 

Leave a Reply

